You are here
Home > Latest News > New Committee details and AGM

New Committee details and AGM

The club contacts page has been updated. You can find the emails and contacts on this page. The new roles of Race Secretary and Vice Chairman have been added

Minutes of Annual General Meeting

Held on 26/11/2016 at The Albert Cottage Hotel East Cowes

Meeting opened at 7.16pm.


Apologies: John Gardner and Joe Staunton

AGM & Treasurers statement

A copy of last years AGM minutes and the accounts were made available prior to the meeting and there were no questions or queries raised.

The approval of both of these were proposed by Neil Cooper and seconded by Steve Goodier.

Chairman’s statement

Joe stated that it is during the Chairman’s report that he expresses plans for the club over the coming coming year. however, Joe confirmed that he will be stepping down at the conclusion of the meeting at which time the new chairman would take over.

Joe stated that it has been an honour to be chairman for the past 3 years and he does not intend to stop helping the club where he can stating he feels he cannot work to the level he would want to and give the same commitment next year with other plans he has.

The club is in a very healthy place with a large membership, money in the bank and the club is putting on more events and training sessions than ever.

Club roles

During a recent club meeting it was agreed by the committee that to spread the workload we would introduce the role of Vice Chairman and the role of Event Coordinator, subject to approval. This was approved.

Election of officers

Steve Dines agreed to take on the role of Chairman alongside Sean Williams who will take up the role of Vice Chairman.

Mike Mills is stepping down and Jan Fletcher is to become the new Secretary.

Joe Norman will take on the new role of Event Coordinator.

Anne Dines is prepared to stay on as Treasurer in light of no other offers being made known.

Liz Dunlop and John Gardner are willing to stand again in their current roles of Press Officer and Welfare Officer.

There were no other nominations for any of these positions and no objections raised.

A block election was proposed by Lucy Wells and seconded by Martin Goodall.

The Chairman thanked Mike Mills and welcomed the newly elected members.

No other items were submitted.

The meeting closed at 7.20pm in a record time of 4 minutes.